Book Review: Who Moved My Cheese? (Dr Spencer Johnson)

Genre: Self-help, Fiction 
Interesting rating: Very
Star rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Would I recommend it? Definitely

Change is stressful. Change can be traumatic. Change is hard. So even though Who Moved My Cheese? doesn’t need another review, I’d like to share a few thoughts here. On how I found the book and the lessons I learned on how to cope with change. Because you never know who else may need to read this.

What’s the book about?

Who Moved My Cheese? is a popular book and has been since it was first published in 1998. It tells the story of two littlepeople Hem and Haw and what they do when their cheese is moved. Cheese serves as the metaphor for what you want in life. This could be success, a partner, a house of your own, a more spiritual life or something else. Two mice Sniff and Scurry experience the same thing. Their cheese is moved too. But their response is very different to that of the littlepeople. We discover what happens in each scenario, and learn what to do when someone moves our cheese.

The review

I remember watching Who Moved My Cheese? The Movie by Dr Spencer Johnson during a Navigating Change workshop in 2019. But even though I knew the concept, reading the book gave me fresh insights. It’s a great read with practical ways to handle change. The author encourages us to keep moving forward. And to do so quickly. As all of us experience change, this book has value for everyone.

Some lessons learned:
Pay attention to the little changes.
Smell the cheese often so you know when it’s getting old.
Hard times doesn’t last forever.
Don’t be afraid to fail.
Let go and trust what lies ahead for you.

To sum up

The Who Moved My Cheese? story is simple and easy to understand. Even though it was written long ago, it’s still relevant today. I recommend it for everyone experiencing change. This book will help you through it in a practical way. Read it; you won’t be sorry.

5 out of 5 stars

Publisher: Vermillion, an imprint of Edbury Press
Year: 1999 | Pages: 94
ISBN: 9780–018-1697-1

Buy it here

Join me on Instagram for more: abbey_abby_abi/

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you.